Homemade Soup for Chilly Days

Hello friends! This past week my husband, Caleb, and I were in Haiti on a mission trip! Frankly, it was amazing and heart-opening as well as eye-opening. I will write more on this on Thursday :) But today, I wanted to share with you the soup that we made on Sunday! It was very warm in Haiti, so when we got back to North Carolina we felt very out of place and… COLD!

On the quick three minute drive home from church on Sunday, we decided we should make ourselves some soup. Since we didn’t have any canned soups in the pantry, we whipped up a very delicious chicken and rice soup!

Here is what I used:

1/2 TB vegetable oil

1/2 onion, chopped

1 clove garlic, minced

1 carrot, or 10ish baby carrots, sliced

1-2 stalks celery, sliced

1/2 c green onion

1 qt. (4 c) vegetable stock

1/2 c water

1/2 c rice (uncooked)

Spices: thyme, basil, parsley, rosemary

What I did:

First, I chopped up all the veggies and prepared the chicken. Caleb and I had frozen chicken, so we had to cook it and then we shredded it using two forks to pull it apart.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOnce all of the prep was done, we heated up the oil in a large pot and dropped in all the veggies. These needed to soften up a bit, especially the carrots and celery.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When these became more soft, the vegetable stock and water were added and brought to a boil. The bubbles of the boil let us know it was time to add in the chicken, rice, and spices! To be honest, I did not actually measure out the spices.. I kind of sprinkled in a little bit of each, a little extra of what I thought smelled good!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThen we had to wait around 20-30 minutes for the rice to become cooked and tender, and it was ready to eat! Fabulous little soup and it was so delicious in our cold tummies!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAFeel free to make yourself some tasty soup! This yielded enough for both Caleb and I to have a bowl for lunch, with a little left-over which Caleb had for dinner! So yum :)

I really love to cook and bake, even though I still feel like I have LOTS to learn! It is so fun to figure these things out, and also to work with my husband in the kitchen. I feel so blessed that he loves to create delicious meals with me, and we can work on it together. I think it really does impact our marriage positively because we are doing it together, and then we get to enjoy it together :) Sometimes our experiments don’t turn out, but that’s part of learning how to operate the kitchen! I am so glad that this soup turned out, it was kind of an experiment as well!!

Oooooh also.. Check out what just came out of my oven!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My very first pie! We can’t wait to try it ;)

I hope you have a fantastic day, and don’t be afraid to try some new things in the kitchen.. You might surprise yourself!

Enjoy life.

4 thoughts on “Homemade Soup for Chilly Days

Leave a Reply

