Day 109

A Poem

Long hour drives

While spending some

Quality time with

A quality friend.

 

Not lots of

Change in the

Scenery but more

In the conversation.

 

There’s nothing wrong

With sitting silently

Or even with

Pondering the future.

 

I enjoy quality

Time and important

Chats with the

Best of friends.

<><><><><><><>

I wrote this tonight, after my best friend and I arrived safely in New Mexico. We’re visiting some great friends this weekend, and it is going to be relaxing and exciting. This poem reflects that I enjoy conversation and that I almost kind of need it on long car rides. To be honest, sometimes I have nothing to say and I remain quiet. Some people, I know, are scared of silence, but I am not. It gives my thoughts free reign of my brain and that is (maybe) when my best thinking happens. Of course.. Sometimes, I think out loud, and that is an experience in itself. Conversing with another person who has similar, yet deeper, or slightly different, views than yourself means that you have to articulate your thoughts more and to try and think things through. The reason I say this is because sometimes, my friend and I would be talking, agreeing, but it sounded as if we had different ideas. We just were failing to see their point in the same light, even though it was the same concept.

Don’t be scared of silence.

Don’t be afraid of the future.

Don’t be afraid.

Joshua 1:9, ” ‘Haven’t I [God] commanded you? Strength! Courage! Don’t be timid; don’t get discouraged. GOD, your God, is with you every step you take.’ ” (The Message Remix 2.0, Eugene H. Peterson)

God bless, stay fresh

Leave a Reply

