Day 105

What, Exactly, is Patience?

What if, rather than time, patience was a characteristic of Love?

In church today, our pastor was talking about a multitude of things, but one thing I specifically remember was his emphasis on what patience is. I mean, he didn’t spend a whole lot of time on it, but the first sentence I wrote up there is more or less the point he was trying to make. I found this quite thought provoking and acutely accurate.

In and of myself, I think I’m a pretty patient person, but I know that sometime I am not. I realize sometimes I get frustrated when someone is taking a long time to get ready; or when traffic gets really bad; or if someone takes a long time to get back to me about something. Details are minuscule and yet, so important. It’s kind of crazy to think about how much we have missed. About each other. About nature. About life, in general.

The “Love Chapter”, as some cleverly refer to it as (myself included), in the Bible is 1 Corinthians 13. In verse four, it begins to detail some qualities of Love, “Love is patient, like is kind, it does not boast, it is not proud.” I’m going to stop right there. This kind of love, isn’t specifically the romantic kind of love, but it is Godly Love. Perfect Love.

What if, when we looked at these verses, we actually payed attention to the words we were reading and made patience.. A virtue? What then? If we made patience something about learning to love someone, rather than only having to do with the essence of time, we would be more like people of Love, yes?

Don’t you want to be a person on Love? I know I want to be! The entire paragraph, from verse four to verse seven, tells us the attributes of Love.

Of God!

I was reading a book (yes, again I’m going to quote a book) called Soul Cravings by Erwin Raphael McManus (yes, the same book I quoted last time.. It’s good though! Makes you think!), and one chapter said “All you need is love.” I’m assuming he was quoting The Beatles. And underneath that, it read, “God is Love.”

Therefore, all you need is God, if God is, indeed, Love.

And he is.

Here’s the thing, people.. We were made in God’s image. Meaning.. We’re like God. Or at least.. Should/could be.

Sometimes, I think I forget that.

Something else I tend to forget.. (confession time! Haha) is how patient he is with us. I mean, here we are, usually doing our own thing, not really critically thinking (or maybe I’m by myself in this, which is okay.. Needs to be said!), and then we sin. We screw up.

Think about it.

Every day, God’s people make mistakes, and he is patient. The most patient man I’ve ever met. And he continues to forgive..

Why?

Because God is Love!

He can’t help it!

I’m sure we are a disappointment sometimes, but that isn’t enough to make him not want us. And that is kind of insane..

He made us perfectly imperfect.

Does that make sense?

We were meant to learn from our mistakes, and to be patient with others when they slip up. Honestly.. It’s the least we can do.

I don’t know, there is a lot of jumble in these words, but it’s just something I’ve been thinking about on and off today. So I needed to share. One of these days, I’ll write a brilliant post and all the words will fit together and flow like a real life blogger.

Then again.. Maybe not.

Maybe one of my imperfections is writing so scattered.

Who knows?

Be patient with me, and I will love you.

God bless, stay fresh.

Leave a Reply

