Day 101

Africa

Lately, the entirety of Africa has been on my mind. I have dreamt for three years- or so- about going to Africa.

Most of my day, after a (might I say) completely welcomed and needed lunch with two amazing people, consisted of looking at ministry opportunities located in Africa. I don’t want to just.. Donate. Not that it isn’t good to donate, but I want to go there.

Get my hands dirty.

The song Dirty by Audio Adrenaline comes to mind. Here is the first verse, starting off strong with some really big points that I feel are necessary and pretty appliciable:

Tired of being clean, sick of being proper
I wanna live among the beggars
And dig out in the dirt
Step outside the walls we built to protect us
Don’t be afraid to get some mud on your face

I find this song to be inspiring, and when I listen to it, or think about it, all I can think about is Africa. Some of the websites I found today, and missions and whatnot, really made me itch to leave within the next year. Honestly, I have no idea where I should go or what I need to do there, but I believe wholeheartedly that God is calling me to some sort of mission there.

Lives will be changed and hearts will be healed.

Transformational in every sense of the word.

Pictures of the children and broken people make my heart long to hug them and teach them about the Love that I have in my Jesus. He is the source of my joy and I want to fully share that with everyone I can. That even means here and now, which I realize.. I actually haven’t been doing that.

But I will.

I need to start loving the people around me before I can go out and love on the people who need it most. I have to.

The people of Africa are hurting and they have no way to cope with it. They need the love I have to give. They need the love I want to give. They need Christ. I want to love them with all that I have. I want to gain their trust and show them the source of my joy. I want them to understand the reason behind my behavior.

I will go there.

Love.

It’s necessary.

Stay fresh, God bless.

Leave a Reply

