Day 88

I Was Working..

On my art journal today and wrote the words, “Fleeting contentment, lasting disappointment”.

When I first wrote them down, I was thinking about the picture that I had just glued down onto the page. It showed a man who had been drifting at sea, washed up on the shore of a small island with nothing but a palm tree on it. Oddly enough, someone had apparently been there before because the tree had been turned into a basketball hoop.

Too bad there was no ball.

Or coconuts.

But anyways.. As I got to thinking, that is what our lives are like, apart from Christ. We are sometimes content, but we will always end with disappointment. And as sad as it is, this happens.. Kind of maybe a lot. And it’s frustrating.

What we need to realize is that it’s not really possible to find happiness apart from the One who saved us.

I mean, really.. He didn’t have to.

But He did.

Which is awesome!

And I don’t know why I always try to make myself have a decent day/life, because I know deep down that I won’t help myself. That I need to just stay focused on Jesus and it’ll work. Even though it’s more scary, He is more dependable than I am.

It’s just something I need to remember, that He is dependable, I am not. And that apart from Him, I won’t find anything lasting other than disappointment.

And that’s always a bummer.

So. Let’s be focused. :)

Stay fresh, God bless

Leave a Reply

