Day 9

Free and captive?

Sometimes, things that are said in class really tend to make me think. This isn’t a bad thing, but sometimes I just get quite distracted from what we are supposed to be talking about. Today, for instance, my professor briefly said something about being free and yet still held captive. I couldn’t get that idea out of my head.

Are there still things in my life that I have not let go of? Are there people I haven’t forgiven? Are there things weighing me down without me even knowing it?

It’s easy for me to think that everything is all well and good, and that life is pretty perfect right now. And I think that is where I go wrong. I tend to forget about the hurts I have. Very real hurts. What I’m not saying is that I have to relive those hurts, but I do have to come to terms with them.

One thing that is hard for me is to tell people that they have hurt me, especially when they don’t know that they did anything. I would rather take all the pain of the relationship, rather than sharing it. I would rather them be happy even if it meant I had to suffer. This, I realize, isn’t a super healthy way of life, but it is the way I work.

And I don’t really know why I am posting about this, but honesty is valuable, I guess.

But apart from me, what about you? What is holding you back from giving up everything? I don’t know what your situation is or whatever, but I encourage you to let the baggage go. You won’t be able to go nearly as far with it on your back as without it..

God bless and stay fresh.

Leave a Reply

